At 8pm I Am: 365 Days in 140 Characters or Less

For one year from December 2008 until December 2009 I used a Twitter account as a disciplinary device to write about my life. Each day I would record precisely what I was doing at  8pm.  This was my personal and anonymous journal. My name was not attached to the account and my posts were not intended for an audience. On Twitter I refused all followers and I followed no one.  At 8pm I Am was a part of a larger ongoing narrative project inspired by Deleuze’s Cinema 2: The Time-Image (1989).

This had been a tough year for me: the US economy tanked, I ran out of freelance jobs/credit/cash and had to return to a day job I hated. Desperate for cash I auditioned for a reality TV show and ended up a finalist but did not get the gig. My partner of 10 years ran out of money too and took off to his family home in the UK leaving me to pay all of the bills for our house in Los Angeles. Our dog Mickey was sick and dying.

This Wednesday May 24 @ 5pm in Los Angeles (@ 8pm east coast time!) for the first time ever I will read as many of the 365 entries as I can in my one-hour program on KCHUNG. Hope you can join me!

@8pmiam on Twitter